A Drawing A Day #1

So lately I’ve been getting a lot of people saying they checked out the blog, and that’s always cool. Unfortunately, there’s pretty much nothing ever up here for anyone to read anymore. I’d like to blame it on a hectic schedule, but it’s really because I’m a little nancy boy perfectionist when it comes to the words I put down on paper. Not so for the rest of my life, though. That’s all chaos, all of the time.

Another thing that’s come up a few times over the last few weeks has been certain friends of mine trying to get me to draw. Every time I have a good idea for a comic that I figure won’t see the light of day, I have a few friends (all of them artists in one way or another) who tell me to try and draw it myself. The problem is, I’m quite rubbish at drawing the way most people tell me to. I don’t know for perspective, I hate using anything but a black pen, and I obsess over minute details enough to end up ruining whatever I do.

But back when I was 5, I used to tell my mummy that I was going to be a cartoonist (or a movie director, or an actor, or Superman!), so scribbling pictures when I should’ve been taking notes in class is one of my many talents. Most of them come out as weird interpretations of what I was being taught, or stick people with disproportionate anatomies, or sometimes little comic strips.

The point of all this rambling is that, from today onwards, I aim to update the blog every day with a drawing by me. A Drawing A Day.

I’m warning you now that I’m not a technically accurate artist. I haven’t been trained. I probably never will seek out any training. I’m a writer, which means other people who actually call themselves artists should really be drawing all my ideas (I’m always looking for collaborators, folks), but here goes nothing…

 

Where’d this come from? I dunno. I usually start with the eyes and work my way down from there.  This sort of stiff pose is one that probably ends up repeated quite a bit in my art. Once I’ve done a few hundred more of these, I’ll probably start experimenting with new angles. For now, take that in, readers. They aren’t words, but they’ll do for now.

Leave a Reply

